PDA

View Full Version : 250sx 1985 Tips or things to check ?

Atc250sx85
05-28-2014, 01:23 AM
Hi im new to trikes and iv got a 250sx 85, and i would like to do a overall maintenance on it because mine in not in good shape, what should i check it first ? what are the issues on this bike ? things to be aware of ? expert tips, anything i should know, please it would be appreciate, (excuse me for all the misspell english in not my native language)

Thanks alot guys
Shawn

Flyingw
05-28-2014, 03:29 AM
First of all, change the oil and filter. These engines were engineered to run on standard SAE 10w-40 in the Summer and SAE 10w-30 in the Winter. There are many opinions on what oil to use but I've used SAE oil per the manual with no issues. Fill to slightly over full. Never never screw the dip stick in to check the oil level. Insert the dip stick in to the threads and pull back out.

Second, change the spark plug. NGK DR8ES

Third, drain and refill the differential oil. 80/90 Hypoid gear oil is needed. I use Valvoline on mine. When you drain the oil, inspect the oil for a milky appearance. The milky appearance is cause by water intrusion. While the cap is off, shine a light in the hole and inspect the gear teeth. The gear teeth should have nice square edges. Drain and refill to overflow. If you regularly swamp the trike, change the diff oil frequently.

Fourth, inspect the rubber boot between the engine and swingarm. If the boot is torn, order a replacement from Honda. That boot keeps water from getting down in the propeller shaft cavity which will lead to water intrusion in to the differential.