PDA

View Full Version : Uh oh, what did I do now...

DohcBikes
07-13-2014, 11:05 AM
Awwww geeez. I went and got a real JOB!

DISCLAIMER: This post is long and probably will not interest 99% of the people here.

I'm sure few here really give a shlt but I'm gonna break it down for anyone that might, or is just bored and wants to read a short story. It's gonna sound like a life story, but I assure you there are many parts I can't or dont want to remember, and I generally am lazy at telling stories AND typing, so I'll skip some stuff to focus on the bigger picture.

I started working early. At age 8, I was weeding bean fields beside my family for summer money. By ten, I had a paper route delivering to a whole town, and my dad was starting to let me work on the roofs with him. I'm a 3rd generation roofer. This should explain some things to some, i think.

When I turned 19, through tumultuous circumstances, I became a 33% partner in my dads construction company. By this time, he had branched out a bit and was also doing an HVAC contract at a manufactured home plant in Nebraska. Him, me, and another partner handled that contract and the jobsites equally for 2 years, until the other partner fell in to some old habits.I wasn't about to let my grandfathers name be ruined by a speed freak, so I told my dad we needed to cut ties with him. This was my dad's best friend from years back. He begrudgingly did what he knew was the right thing anyway, so by 22 I had half a construction company.