PDA

View Full Version : Tips on what to look for in an ATC 250r?

McTrikerson
08-27-2014, 04:46 AM
Hello,

I grew up riding an ATC 200x and have also raced dirtbikes, so I'm no stranger to the offroad world. My family thinks I'm crazy, but I've been wanting a 250r for over a decade. I think it is time to throwdown. Being a student, my budget mandates that I'll likely end up with an 83-84.

So, I'm wondering what kind of problems I should be looking for on a 250r, when buying. I've never actually bought a used dirtbike/atv, so your help is important to me.

I'm also wondering how high maintenance they tend to be, assuming I get one that is in mostly average condition (whatever that is).
Any feedback would be helpful. I've never even been on a 250r. But, for as much as I love offroading and my old 200x, I doubt I'll be disappointed.

Thanks!

jakep53
08-27-2014, 07:19 AM
you wont be disapointed I just bought an 82 and that thing rips!!

f76
08-27-2014, 08:20 AM
Some quick things to check:
front and rear shock condition ( if it feels bouncy like a pogo stick it will need rebuilding or replaced)
bearings in carrier and front axle. Ask to jack the trike up and turn wheels by hand, listen for noise, wiggle axle around to see if there is any play. Also free spin the axle and check if the axle is bent, or rims are bent.
Also while trike is off the ground check swing arm bushings/bearings. Attempt to wiggle swing arm and check for slop or play. Same with front forks, check the neck bearings.
Condition of tires.
Look frame over for cracks or repairs. A 250r frame is robust but it never hurts to look things over.
Under and around engine for oil leaks.
Test the brakes, if possible look at pads.
Chain and sprockets. If o-ring chain look for missing o-rings, stuck links. Sprockets look for worn out teeth on gears, will have a hook shape if severely worn out, sharp tips.
Look inside gas tank for rust.