PDA

View Full Version : 70's, 80's, and even 90's Country...

Caminofeld
09-02-2014, 11:36 PM
I don't usually get too sentimental on here, but had to vent about something that happened at work the other day and has been on my mind a bit...

So I'm orienting a veteran Nurse that's new to the ER from the ICU. She's a friend of mine who I have delivered countless patients to over the years and we occasionally see each other outside of work due to having mutual friends. She has been telling me how she and her husband have a band they're trying to get off the ground and after orientation the other day she played me a few of their songs. They are all original (and pretty damn good), and pull vintage influences such as The Band, the Stones, etc. I asked if they were playing any shows soon and she said they really want to, but don't know where to start. I'm a veteran guitar/bass player who has been in quite a few bands over the years, so I was giving her some advice on the best way to line up a local gig; Which was to get a 45 minute set together and play a local music showcase at the 8x10 with a few other bands (If you bring 10 people, you can play for free). She told me they really have a disdain for cover bands (which I agree with), but I explained how the bar scene works and suggested incorporating a few covers to get their proverbial foot in the door and to hook the audience. She was wondering about what I've been into since I don't currently have a band (I recently gained 50/50 custody of my little guy and he's with me every day I'm off, so I'm devoting 100% of my time and energy into being the best Dad I possibly can)...I played her a clip of me laying down the drums for a new song I wrote that has a Cuban/Afrobeat feel to it and related it to Vampire Weekend...to which she expounded on how much she loves them and went on to tell me about her taste in music. We chatted for a bit more and the topic of Country music came up. Her response was the same one I've heard fr