PDA

View Full Version : 1981 Big Red Problem Question

Hunter79
11-24-2014, 08:54 AM
Hi all. I am a newbie here. I've had my grandpa's Honda Big Red 3 Wheeler at my house for a while now trying to figure out what's wrong with it. I've even taken it into a shop but won't be taking it there anymore because he hasn't fixed it yet and it's been there three times. Anyway, the problem is, it was running fine and then one day decided it wouldn't run anymore. To make it clear, I took it to this mechanic. He adjusted the carb and said it was good to go. I get it home, run it for about 6 hours total, and it goes back to turning over and firing, but not starting. I take it back to him, he adjusts the carb and said it was good to go. I get it home, run it for about 6 hours total, and it goes back to turning over and firing, but not starting, again. You guessed it, I took it back and told him that it wasn't the adjustment in the carb. He insisted it was and adjusted it again. You guessed it, around 6 hours and now it's doing the turning over and firing, but not starting. What in the world could be wrong? I have no idea but would really like to get this running. Also, the mechanic said that the second time I took it there the carb had completely changed where he had it adjusted to. SO, what do you think? And thanks in advance!!

Keepah Rolln
11-24-2014, 02:39 PM
It could be alot of things..How long do you ride it before it shuts down? 6 hours of riding without shutting it down for a break? Maybe its over heating...

e5earley
11-24-2014, 03:10 PM
When it quits, open the fuel bowl drain and see if fuel comes out. If not, your float may be sticking starving it for fuel. Just a thought.

Hunter79
11-24-2014, 07:51 PM