PDA

View Full Version : Hot shot truckers? Camper haulers?

fabiodriven
12-23-2014, 11:28 AM
This is an idea in its infancy so this could potentially either never happen or define a big part of my adult life. That is all to be determined.

I toyed with the idea of using my truck to haul campers after a friend had suggested it over this past summer. I thought about it for a while and was really thinking of looking into it, but then I got caught up at another dead end job and put that idea to the back burner. Well that dead end job is no more so here I am unemployed again and looking for something more betterer.

For those that don't know, I am a truck driver by trade and a mechanic by nature. I know the ins and outs of trucks and have hauled over the road before so I am familiar with most of the laws in that regard. What I am looking for is information in this business, which is hauling campers (and sometimes other things) across the country. My truck is pretty much set up to do this and would only need some minor tweaking in order to be ready to roll. I spent last night reading a 26 page thread which seemed to have a good amount of answers, but I'm looking for an "in". Someone who has done or currently does this that I can speak with and see if it's worth me betting my future on. I like the ideas of traveling, freedom, seeing new places, but in order for this to work I must make some dough rhe me. I am 35 years old and although an asset to the right company, that right company doesn't seem to be surfacing right this second. I need to make it or break it. I don't want to squeak by anymore.