PDA

View Full Version : New member with 1983 yt175

Mattjmulligan
05-28-2015, 06:01 AM
Hello, I'll start with the fact that I'm totally new to trikes, but not new to forums or air cooled Yamaha 2 strokes. I will also say that my grammar and puntuation sucks, but I try to keep myself from running on. So bear with me.

Now to the three wheeler... I picked this thing up in a trade for a couple of puch mopeds I had laying around, it's a 1983 yt 175. It's missing a bunch of nuts and bolts and a few odds and ends but it's mostly all there. I picked up a parts bike yesterday for it, i had assumed it was a 175. Turns out it was a 125, But it was 30$ so I bought it anyway. The guy says it's an 85 but no way to tell for sure because he cut the front end off for a go cart project, so no frame vin number to go by.

Now my questions..
What (if anything) is compatible between the two?
The 175 seems to be stuck in reverse?? (Do these have reverse?) when I pull the starter the wheels spin backwards. And I can't get it to shift through any gears.
I've seen that a few people put the 175 top end on the 125 bottom, is there any advantage to this?

I will edit in and add other questions as I think of them, any other help is appreciated.

Thanks a lot,
Matt

Mattjmulligan
05-28-2015, 08:18 PM
Well after looking at some micro fiches I found some information.
Apperently there is no reverse, in either bike. So i assume the there is something seriously wrong in the transmission on the 175? Although I could be wrong
I also found the cylinder base gasket to be the same but the crank, rod, wrist pin and little end bearing are all different, so I'm not sure about the top end swap yet, although I have seen a few posts saying that they have done it.
The rear axle assembly is the same between the two, so that's a score on an extra rear axle assembly.
All the wheels are the same, but the 125 wheel has no brake setup.