PDA

View Full Version : 83 Honda 200E Ignition switch question from new guy in Arkansas

ronnie72404
05-29-2015, 04:38 PM
Ignition Switch question on 83 Honda 200E. Someone before me hooked up car ignition switch to the Honda and trying to see what wire goes where. Has anyone ever done this or have any ideas?
Car ignition has 4 post such as Battery, Acc, Start and Ignition.
I have red wire hooked up on Battery
Black wire hooked up on Ignition
Red/yellow wire hooked up on Start (Not sure tis is correct??)
Nothing on Acc.
Honda Diagram shows a Green wire on E. (Not sure what E is)
and a yellow/red wire hooked up on HD or Ho (not sure what that is)
I am going to buy a ignition switch from e bay for this but would sure like to see if it runs.
Many thanks.
:wondering

barnett468
05-29-2015, 05:09 PM
ok, i am not an expert on these but if you simply want to see if the bike has spark, you can do the following, it "should" work . . i think.

1. remove spark plug and lay it on the engine so it is grounded and connected to the coil.

2. unplug the coil wire . . it should be yellow with a black stripe.

3. connect a wire from the positive side of the battery to the post on the coil you removed the yellow wire from.

4. remove the wire on the starter motor.

5. connect a 3' long piece of wire to that post then touch it on the stsarter . . it should turn the engine over . . if it doesnt then the starter is likely dead.

6. if it turns the engine over, look at the spark plug to see if it sparks . . if it does, 90% of your battle is done.

7. disconnect the coil from the battery . . do not leave it connected for more than maybe 5 minutes with the engine not running.

8. if you do have spark you can put the plug in, connect it to the battery and try to start it . . i sometimes use flammable brake cleaner or starting fluid in the carb throat to encourage them.

ronnie72404
05-29-2015, 07:00 PM
Thank you

barnett468