PDA

View Full Version : 350x Front Suspension

JoeNasty
06-08-2015, 09:22 PM
Today I was out riding on my trike for a little bit and really noticed how weak the suspension in the forks are. They easily press all the way down and I'm new to working with these so I'd like to know how I'd be able to fix this.

barnett468
06-08-2015, 10:24 PM
it would help to know what your weight is and exactly what conditions they bottom under.

can you easily bottom them simply by pushing on them?

do you plan to hit bumps fast?

barnett468
06-09-2015, 01:12 AM
this problem could be caused by low oil level, oil too thin for your weight, wrong springs, worn out springs, springs too weak for your weight and/or insufficient preload . . there’s a few different things you can check to help determine the causes of the problem . . the following are just a few suggestions.

Get the front wheel off the ground then measure the distance from the bottom of the lower fork clamp to the top of the lower fork leg.

next, get in front of the bike, then grab the front axle with both hands and try to pull the wheel forward . . this will tell you if the fork tubes are loose in the lower legs and if the steering bearings are loose . . repair as necessary.