PDA

View Full Version : New member and New 85 250sx

blackout08
08-10-2015, 03:26 PM
Ive been purusing the forum for a few years, pretty much since i picked up my first 2 3 wheelers for free. A 1984 atc70, and a 185, unsure of year as its been sold.
The 70 was pretty well all there so I've hung on to it, added a plastic tank and a lifan 125cc, all new control cables, new mikuni carb. Currently out of commision, in need of a top end job.
The 185 was really rough, maybe 60-70% there. It wasn't really worth restoring in my opinion, not many parts were in great shape and the plastics were torn up. It has since been sold to another local atc owner for use of parts. Sad, but at least ot helped get other trikes going.
On the 28th of july i happened across an ad on craigslist for an 85 250sx. As long as I've had the other atcs, I've always wanted a 250es or 250sx, and since neither pop up on the classifieds often, i jumped on it. All there, no leaks, decent overal shape, AND running. He had me sold at 800. Minor issues when it was purchased: bent handlebars, bog under rapid acceleration or opening the throttle up suddenly, no battery, and no rear brakes.
Since I've had it, I've replaced the rear pads, and both rear cables, now rear breaks work. I've put on a new battery, now the electric start works. New 23x7x10 bear claw on the front, 22x12x8 bear claws on the rear (with 2" spacers.) Still working on finding handlebars that fit the stock mounts. Oil change, new kn air filter.

UPNATM
08-11-2015, 08:30 PM
Looks good, try and post up some more pics if you can of it with the new wheels and tires on it.
How are those spacers when riding?

ty98zr
08-13-2015, 03:36 PM
Looks like you are getting some use out of your new purchase. Good job.

blackout08
08-13-2015, 06:19 PM
Looks good, try and post up some more pics if you can of it with the new wheels and tires on it.
How are those spacers when riding?