PDA

View Full Version : EXTREAMLY WEIRD ATC 200 engine question

ATC_Bros
11-29-2015, 09:55 PM
ok i guess you could say im new to ATC's but not too the game of owning toys as such, i recently bought a rather complete 1983 ATC 200 (no letter) with the stock engine from what i can tell from the numbers this site kindly provides fall in line with being stock, this is the 3rd Atc i picked up in the past 4 or so months and NEVER have i seen a 200 or any atc with a NGK BR9ES spark plug and NOT the standard Dr8es-l plug im used to :wondering but when i go to switch the plug the thread size is BIGGER then the Dr8es-l plug, :( it doesnt looked drilled from what i can so far,any ideas i went 2.5 hours one way to Barrie from Waterford to grab it for $200 and got back once dark, tomorrow im going to pull the tank and possibly the engine and OPEN UP its "LID"...LOL and see exactly whats going on but if ANYONE can think of a reason,(aftermarket race head) DOUBT IT but even then its the DR8E series plug,but hey i guess i will find out tomorrow and post my finding,

Thanks

John Tice
11-29-2015, 10:19 PM
What sizes are the holes? 14 x 1.25, 12 x 1.25?
JT

shortline10
11-30-2015, 10:54 AM
Sounds like it's been tapped out for the larger plug . Probably work just fine , can always put a br8es if you need a hotter plug .

atctim
11-30-2015, 11:40 AM
I agree with Shortline. The hole most likely got stripped out, and rather than fix it the correct way or replace it, they drilled and tapped it bigger. If it runs OK - I wouldn't mess with it.

ATC_Bros
12-02-2015, 12:44 AM