PDA

View Full Version : 3 Wheeler Electrical System Walkthrough

phil200E
12-09-2015, 04:44 PM
Hi all,

I'm just getting into the world of ATVs, motorcycyles, and of course ATC's. Specifically in this case a 1982 Honda 200E. This is a classic case of, "It was running fine and then just died one day and now I can't get any spark." So I decided (after difficulties in troubleshooting) that I should really understand what is going on in the whole of the system so that I can check it piece by piece to find the faulty part.

So, here is my current understanding of the system. Please correct me if something is wrong.

It starts at the Stator, where a magnet on the fly wheel spins around inside of the stationary copper coils of the stator and produces an AC current. This AC current is then directed to (in the case of my 200E) the Regulator/Rectifier, where the AC current is transformed into DC current to charge the battery and also towards the CDI unit. This AC current from the Stator then goes through the CDI and into the primary coil of the Ignition coil where it produces a magnetic field that envelops the Secondary Coil. The pulse generator which is spinning as well will then send a small charge through the pickup (when the magnets spin past it) into the CDI. The CDI then momentarily shuts off the AC current that is going into the Ignition Coil. As the magnetic field collapses around the secondary coil it causes the voltage to rise dramatically which is then channeled down the Spark Plug wire and into the Spark Plug, through the spark plug and into the ground (which is either the engine or your hand...Zap!). There by completing the spark circuit.

Does that sound right?

barnett468
12-09-2015, 08:55 PM
The most common cause of no spark on a Honda is a bad CDI . . You can check the stator coils and primary ignition coil and pulsar coil for proper resistance . . see the spec in the manual.

i wouldn't even bother with testing the cdi.