PDA

View Full Version : Pic's of my new PRM desert series Grab rail on the Scrammy.

Wickedfinger
01-27-2004, 05:24 PM
This came in from the UPS man a few hours ago and I just mounted it. Its a PRM desert series Grab rail. I've been using PRM for quite a few years now and they make the best rails in the business hands down. This one was no exception in the quality department and the holes lined up perfectly - but I did run into a few problems. One wierd thing I always run into with PRM is that their mounting bolts are ALWAYS too short, and this kit was no exception. Second one was I had to remove the stock tool box from the rear in order for the new rail to mount up. I had to cut away at the rear mounting tab of the plastic box in order to make clearance for it to mount back up and clear the rail. The third problem is that even though the mounting holes lined up perfectly, the mounting braces of the rail were a little bit wider than the quads tail frame. When I tightened the bolts - which was a chore because they are just a little TOO short, I noticed that when they were fully seated, the grab rail actually had a little bit of an arc because of the mounting braces having to squeeze in on the frame. It dosent bother me too much though and I may in the future just remount the rail with longer bolts and washers between the tabs and the frame to alleviate the "bend". Anyway, even with the problems - (little ones really) - I would recomend PRMs products to anyone, anytime.

200xman
01-27-2004, 07:12 PM
Yeah, they are great grab bars. Nice and wide so you can lift with 2 hands and stong to boot. I have that same bar on all my machines except for the KLT and Big Red.

03 ORANGE SHEE
01-27-2004, 10:59 PM
got one on my 85 z ,would recommend to ANYONE,will never get another,dg,or ac,they never line up properly!!

Dynofox
01-28-2004, 01:27 PM
I've got one on my 350x, works great but is slightly in front of my pipe. This makes the bike even louder. :(

REDMAN225