PDA

View Full Version : 1st timer restoring a Honda 110ATC, Step 1: Please help me get it running!

benoitdan2
03-12-2016, 03:26 PM
Well, this looks like the place to be for this sort of thing. Thanks in advance to all who help! I know I need it.

I got this trike with the intention of getting it running, playing with it for a few months, restoring it and reselling it. Even if I break even, I still got to see what all the fuss is about ;)

I'm new to this, but I've always been mechanically inclined so I hope not to be TOO hard to coach. I'm about to go take some pictures of it, is there anywhere on there I should be looking for stamps/numbers to help you guys know what I'm working with?

So here's the deal: Got it home, replaced the pull cord, turned it over a bit and nothing. Took the plug out (18mm plug socket... Really? That was new lol), cylinder is getting gas, plug is fouled. New plug, gapped and installed, still no spark. Checked gap on... umm... The part behind the "CDI" cover, the spark maker lol, put it in gear, pushed it a little, nothin... The exhaust sounds "strokey", by that I mean that all the bits and pieces seem to be doing their part, I'm looking at getting a compression tester as that seems to be more accurate than my ears...

I'd like to know where I should be going on this thing. Should I just go ahead and buy new ignition parts? (From what I can tell it would cost me less than $50 to replace everything between the stator and the cylinder.) I have a multitester with a clamp-on ammeter and I know (kinda) how to use it, so if there are any parts that I can test, I'd like to give that a try.

Thanks again for the help and I'm so happy that there's a forum for everything on the internet! :cool:

jhonz
03-12-2016, 08:31 PM
Welcome to the forum!
That thing looks pretty clean, nice find.