PDA

View Full Version : 1980 ATC 110 sputters and pops at full throttle

derrick81787
03-14-2016, 01:03 PM
Hello everyone,

This is my first post here on 3WW, but I've read several posts and love that this place exists. Anyway, I'm brand new to ATVs, and I've started out with a 1980 Honda ATC 110.

I had a guy rebuild the top end and replace the carb right around Christmas time. When I got it back from him, it ran like a top and everything was great. Then just recently, I started having no power whatsoever at full throttle, and it sputters and pops (backfires I think) until it either dies or else I let off the throttle. The problem is worse in 2nd gear and higher than it is in 1st, but it exist no matter what gear it is in. My spark plug was black, so I thought that maybe it was running rich, but it's weird that the problem is just now happening and didn't happen back when I first got it.

The new carbuerator is a Chinese knockoff of an ATC 110/ATC 125 carb and looks practically identical to the original in every way. However, I'm not sure if the needle and the main jet are exactly the same or not. The problem is that while I'm pretty sure that I still have the original jet, I'm not sure if I have the original needle or which of my two needles is the original.

Of the two main jets that I posses, I have one that says "82" on it and that I believe is the original, and I have another that looks pretty much the same to the naked eye but has "876" on it. The one with "876" on it is in the carb and has been ever since I picked it up.