PDA

View Full Version : Hi-Temp Red RTV on intake manifold gasket?

derrick81787
03-31-2016, 10:22 AM
Hi everyone,

I have an intake manifold on my ATC 110 that is giving me trouble. It turns out that it keeps coming loose because the threads in the bolt holes are stripped, so I'm going to repair them with a Helicoil this weekend. However, I have a question about gasket re-installation.

I bought a sheet of gasket material to cut out my own gasket since they seem to be either hard to find or expensive. I have one that's the right shape, but I'm kind of new to this and have never actually replaced gaskets before. Is red RTV an acceptable type of RTV to put on the intake manifold gasket? I bought it because it said Hi-Temp, but then I read online about most people using black. However, that was mostly for cars because that's all I could find info on, and even then I didn't know if red might also be acceptable.

Also, how do you do it? The first time, I put a thin coating on the bottom of the gasket and used that to glue it to the cylinder head. Then after 10 or 20 minutes, I put another thin layer on the top of the gasket and then bolted down the intake manifold on top of it. Is that correct? That worked for a week of driving around until it eventually started leaking air, but I think that's because the bolt holes were stripped and the bolts started to come loose. If nobody here tells me otherwise, I'm going to repair the threads and then repeat the procedure exactly the same way, but I thought I'd ask here first. I'm getting kind of tired of messing with it and just want to get it done right.

Thanks!

yaegerb
03-31-2016, 10:39 AM