PDA

View Full Version : 84 big red 200es voltages to cdi

gravismaximus
06-03-2016, 12:57 PM
hi everyone, my big red has died! little back story, driving along and it would stumble/ hesitate and finnaly die depending on how much you have the throttle on (less would make it run longer). after a wait 10 Seconds it would start and you could go another 15 min and the same thing. at first i thought coil was getting wet, so sprayed it all down no problems found. next trip out same thing but i noted it seems to happen when i hit some hard bumps, but quickly got proven wrong has i dies the next time on pavment from trail to trail. so ive taken all the wiring connection apart and cleaned and checked for rub threws, made the way over due adjustments valve adj, cam chain, clutch, new air filter, new plug. and its never run better after a carb adjustment. next time out no problems (yea fixed it). it sat for about 2 weeks and started it, ran for about 2 min befor i started riding and noticed very quickly that above 2500rpm that it would run like crap like its not enough gas/spark but it ran and didnt die (only rode it for 5 min with my kids around the house) i figured id just have to do another carb adjustment. next time out to it same thing started and ran for about 2 min but this time it died as i put it into gear. had a heck of a time to start it again and even then it died seconds later (made it out of the garage). so dont know if it has anything to do with when it use to die or not but either way it dont start now.