PDA

View Full Version : 1982 Honda 200 help needed please!

srtimm
08-24-2016, 11:16 PM
Good evening all,

First post actually, have wanted a three wheeler for an eternity and finally picked one up! I have spent quite a bit of time on the forums digging around and have tried just about everything i have found thats related to my problem, sorry if this has been covered in the past :wondering. There was a few minor issues with it when I purchased it, of which i was not overly concerned. I am not an expert on motors but I can tear down and fix just about anything motor related. Diagnoses is my issue... Anyways... the trike started on first pull but only ran well with the choke on (everything else that was wrong with it i have already taken care of).

Got it home and took the carb off, cleaned it the best i could. after the cleaning it idled extremely high, pretty much revving out of control (plunger was in correct position). Ordered a replacement carb off of suggestions i found in other forums as i had checked for vacuum leaks and did not locate any. While i was waiting for that to come i reset the valve clearance to spec, timing was a little off so i fixed that, was missing the pre-cleaner on the air filter and replaced that and then the new carb showed up. Installed the new carb, fired up on the first pull, set pilot screw and idle, things were great, i took it out on some trails. Ran outstanding for the first little bit and then suddenly died while driving. would not fire back up without choke on and multiple pulls. drove it back to the truck and figured i would take a look.