PDA

View Full Version : Transmission turns......sometimes. Why?

Dutch
06-02-2017, 10:12 PM
Hi all, so I have an '85 250r and I have the entire engine apart. When I put the gear shafts back into the left crankcase the gears spin all nice and smooth while shifting 1-6. This makes me very happy. When I put the right crankcase on top of the left the gears stop spinning. This makes me very unhappy. The trike was shifting fine when I took it apart and I kept all the gears together on their respective shafts and put them aside as a unit. Now when I try to reassemble it doesn't work. What the heck is going on?

just ben
06-02-2017, 10:37 PM
It will work fine. It's just a lil resistance from everything not being lined up perfectly. The world isn't perfect deal with it

Dutch
06-03-2017, 12:54 AM
Thanks, this is my first time ripping one of these apart. Other than this it all went smoothly.

greenhaze20
06-03-2017, 05:54 AM
If you have the clutch already in and then further down the build you have the crank shaft and piston in the output shaft will not move. You could try putting the cases together with just the transmission in it with the shift drum and pin and see if the output shaft shifts smoothly through 1-6 and then you would know.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Dutch
06-03-2017, 04:49 PM
If you have the clutch already in and then further down the build you have the crank shaft and piston in the output shaft will not move. You could try putting the cases together with just the transmission in it with the shift drum and pin and see if the output shaft shifts smoothly through 1-6 and then you would know.