PDA

View Full Version : Ytm200k compression disappeared

WitsEnd
06-30-2018, 06:59 PM
I'm new to this machine and website, but not to small engines. I've had it running after religiously going thru the motions (gas, spark, compression). I had it purring like a kitten and riding great yesterday, today it's dead. I checked the coil, spark is strong, shot sarting fluid in the cylinder and not even a bark. Compression was only 60psi. I will personally paint your house if you can tell me what I'm missing!!! It's 100 degrees today in Michigan so maybe I'm just dehydrated!

ironchop
06-30-2018, 11:18 PM
So you parked it after riding it and it ran great until then but now it won't start and suddenly lost compression?

No issues, smoking, backfiring, or loss of power while it was running?

Have you checked to see if the head gasket is blown or if the head is still torqued correctly?

Does it have a compression release on the head that might have gotten stuck?

Need more info

Sent from my Z958 using Tapatalk

WitsEnd
07-01-2018, 08:01 PM
Hello IronChop, thank yo so much for responding! I don't want to take up your time so here are the bullet points...

-No backfire, loss of power, tranny smooth
-No oil leaks around head or anywhere
-Removed compression release cable but took exhaust valve cover off and made sure nothing is stuck
-Didn't torque head for lack of tech manual but did lash valves and checked valve train timing, etc

This thing rides strong, idles down nice, doesn't sputter upon acceleration

I just can't get it to start now...ruled out vapor lock, etc

It's a nice trike but I don't want to waste too much time on it due to it's age and lack of parts availability and tech docs.

I appreciate you...God Bless and have a great holiday!!!! -Darren

Rob Canadian
07-01-2018, 08:29 PM
Hey Darren. Welcome to the site. Don't worry about taking up our time. That is what we are all here for.