PDA

View Full Version : ATC 110 back from the dead (sorta)

Rollme110
12-11-2018, 11:44 PM
Hey y'all
I bought a lil 1985 Honda ATC110 from a dude about 4 hrs ago. Overall, its a pretty clean bike. The gas tank is rough but that's fixable. My main issue is that I can't get it to run. I'm a total noob with these things. This is the first time I've even seen one in person, much less stepped on this forum. It REALLY tries to run, but it just won't. The carb is cleaned but I don't really know the plumbing situation b/c I don't have the tank on it right now. It has a really good blue spark, but doesn't run when you dump gas down the intake. It pops, farts, smokes, you name it but it won't actually fire up. It would have helped if I hadn't been turning it over backwards with a drill half the night, but it really doesn't do much more spinning it the correct way. As I said, it really tries, and the plug is wet and (to my knowledge) sparks. It doesn't really have the best compression but I think it might be passable. Also, would a chinese 110 carb work on this? It would eliminate the somewhat sketchy, leaking petcock.
Thanks for the wisdom
rM:drool:

shortline10
12-12-2018, 08:32 AM
Spark , fuel , compression all at the right time and it will run .
If you don’t have a compression tester , hold your thumb over the plug hole and crank it over , you shouldn’t be able to stop air from coming out .

DAM shop
12-12-2018, 09:08 AM
i agree with Mike here but may I add that you purchase a manual so you know how to work on it. There are a few other things you can check but without a book you are shooting in the dark. Stick with the stock carb those china ones for the most part are junk only adding to your problem.

Rollme110
12-12-2018, 11:13 AM
I'll mess with it a little bit today. If the compression is still to low, how can you bump it up without putting a top end in it?

Brandon_Reiko
12-12-2018, 11:49 AM