PDA

View Full Version : Stripped oil plug 350x options?

Shawn Powell
03-17-2019, 06:50 PM
So I went to change my oil today and my threads came off with the plug. I thought I was more careful than that. Removed always with a 3/8 ratchet and replaced with an Allen wrench. Anyways I’m an idiot and ruined my case now.

For now I went to the auto parts store and bought a new plug slightly longer than the old one. Grabs a few threads at the top it seems. Hopefully it won’t leak. I’m quite sure this is only temporary. Or knowing my luck it will drip.

So fellas what should I do? Drill and tap it in place? I’d really not like to crack my cases. Heli coil? I’ve never done on before. Still have to drill and tap. Any tricks to catching and removing all the metal shavings ?

Thanks.
Shawn

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Red Rider
03-17-2019, 07:28 PM
Even with the drilling and tapping new threads method, there is no guarantee that it wont still leak, as the new hole and threads need to be completely square to the sealing surface for it to make a proper seal. I don't see any other way to get the proper accuracy, without the cases being split, and properly aligned in a drill press. Surely others have encountered this very obstacle, so I'm sure you'll get a bunch of advice.

Shawn Powell
03-17-2019, 08:19 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190318/0976f26c1648f46a973e7068b2341e07.jpg
So apparently with this your just retap by hand ? From a 12 to a 13mm ,
My thought is to remove my skid plate and stand the bike straight up , pull my temporary plug , use this with grease on the tap to catch most of the shavings cleaning every few threads then once I’m done drop the bike and let what oils is in there , 2 fresh quarts , drain out hopefully getting any shavings in there.

shortline10
03-17-2019, 08:24 PM
I do at least one drain plug repair a week threw my shop , the 13mm plug repair kits work great .

Shawn Powell
03-17-2019, 08:30 PM