PDA

View Full Version : Metal in oil

AdamA
08-24-2020, 10:50 AM
Hello I'm new to the forum i recently purchased a 1982 Honda atc200E. I decided to change the oil before doing to much ridding. After i was finished and was moving the oil drain pan i noticed in the pan was a small steel ring i thought at first it was c shaped but then i found another piece of it that would have made it a full circle roughly the diameter of a dime and pretty thin. Anyone have any ideas what it could be I'm not very tech savvy and can't figure out how to add a picture. Any help would be appreciated.

yaegerb
08-24-2020, 02:43 PM
Hello I'm new to the forum i recently purchased a 1982 Honda atc200E. I decided to change the oil before doing to much ridding. After i was finished and was moving the oil drain pan i noticed in the pan was a small steel ring i thought at first it was c shaped but then i found another piece of it that would have made it a full circle roughly the diameter of a dime and pretty thin. Anyone have any ideas what it could be I'm not very tech savvy and can't figure out how to add a picture. Any help would be appreciated.

Could be part of a thread that came out when you unscrewed your oil bolt.

AdamA
08-24-2020, 03:33 PM
At first i thought the same thing but the piece i found was a little over half the diameter of the oil drain plug

Jd110
08-25-2020, 08:46 AM
Should be a spring behind the drain bolt, holding the oil screen in place. Sounds like it could be a piece of the spring.

AdamA
08-25-2020, 09:06 AM
If i remember right i think that spring is made of round steel the ring i found is flat and pretty thin i might have to pull the drain plug back out and check that spring

jasong_10
08-26-2020, 11:18 PM
Could it be a crush washer/gasket for the drain plug?

AdamA
08-27-2020, 02:08 PM
I don't think the plug had a crush washer but if so the ring i found is much smaller than the drain plug.

ATC King
08-30-2020, 09:11 PM