PDA

View Full Version : Looking for advive on R/C Nitro truck

lisnup65
02-25-2004, 09:54 AM
I am considering pickup a R?C Nitro 4 w truck. I am a complete newb to the world of RC vehicles and with the unlimited choices out there I need help.
I want a RTR setup that is dependable. I am not looking for something that I need to disassemble and rebuild on a weekly basis. What are some oppinions that you have as for what set-up to get?

I was looking at the T-Maxx, but I keep hearing that the base set-up is well very basic and it will cost upto double the cost of the RTR package to get it depndable.

Again, I am new and dont know much on the subject. Any help is appreciated.

ejc042
02-25-2004, 10:57 AM
I have a T-MAXX and I have not had any problem with it other than puttingin a new piston and sleeve when the old ones wore out. The only thing I have added is aluminum skid plates for better protection.

hondaATCman
02-26-2004, 09:40 PM
I am looking into the HPI Savage 25 myself. I don't want a T-Maxx because they're so popular I can't walk up the street without seeing one. Here's a few good sites for ya:

www.rcuniverse.com
and
www.towerhobbies.com

BTW, are you looking for 1/10 or 1/8 scale?

Crash104936221
02-26-2004, 10:43 PM
i have heard good about both the T-Maxx and Savage

if your looking at getting somthing i would drop by your local hobbie shop and see what they carry parts for in stock becuse i doubt you will like to wait to get stuff in i know i hate it

how depndable a truck is relates on how its treated and drove
dependign on how much you run it will dictate how offten it need to be taken apart and cleaned. i would suggest that whatever you pickup when you brake a part upgrade it to a aftermarket part to prevent a brakage again