PDA

View Full Version : bows

TrikerR
12-25-2004, 11:10 AM
hi i am looking to get a my own bow. i have had little experience with them but i would just like something pretty basic for target and a little hunting. could you guys recommend something

BIGCRIP28
12-25-2004, 12:24 PM
if you looking for a new bow, bowtech or mathews are top of the line.
just the bow is about 500-700 bucks though.
you could get a used one setup already for a few hundred.

OldSchoolin86
12-25-2004, 01:06 PM
Go to your local bow/archery shop. For beginers they are a great place to pick a nice used bow and a professional could help match one to your needs. Doesn't sound like you need a top of the line model. I've had a few over the years and my advice would be to pick up a nice used one for around $100. I payed $50 for my last one and still can group my arrows better then my buddies that payed the big bucks. This bow makes a slight creak when you draw back though so it's not too good for hunting but it's great for practice. Animals will detect the slightest sound. The more you pay the better balanced, quieter, and the more let-off you'll get. I just never needed it.

Quickonstep
12-25-2004, 02:59 PM
martins are nice, pse's are nice.. i personally prefer onida eagles (i own 2) its sorta a longbow/compound bow, 75 lbs pull 30 inch draw 70% letoff, one of the smoothest, nicests bows i have ever shot.. would defaintly be worth the couple hundered invested to get one

Jesse

Pistonhead
12-25-2004, 03:06 PM