PDA

View Full Version : Oops!

86tri-z270
09-24-2006, 08:39 AM
well yesterday i got a new welder so i was outside messin around... well i need a new tinting/filter lens in my mask so i was just sorta welding without one... welllllll i woke up this morning and i couldnt see ANYTHING everything was a white haze... like everything in view.. was white....ive never felt ANYTHING like it pain wise... immagine someone digging in your eye with a firepoker... and then you have the pain....
has anyone done this before?

smokinwrench
09-24-2006, 09:35 AM
I use to weld for a living years ago, its a common accurance especially when you have a welding partner.

Take a potatoe and cut it into 1/4" peices and lay them over your eyes. The potatoe will help suck the burn out. CHange out the peices every so often.

I always thought it felt like someone was takign sand paper to teh underneath side of my eye lids and eye balls.

SYKO
09-24-2006, 09:47 AM
your lucky that you even went to sleep!! must have been a 110 welder I'm sure smoke knows what a large welder will do! send you to the hospital, be carefull man, you loose your peepers its over for riding!

86tri-z270
09-24-2006, 01:10 PM
it was one of those stick welders you gotta pull behind a truck....... like a HUGE lincoln... anyway yea... they still burn..... but its ok i can still see.... so its ok

dreadhed
09-24-2006, 01:35 PM
I had to take a friend to the hospital once cause he burned his eyes. He could not see for 2 ro 3 days. It took a few hours after he got home to really set in.

Unclediezel
09-24-2006, 01:50 PM
Its called "Flash -Burn"----and as Smokin Wrench mentioned, The potatoes are the only relief. At the hospital they will wash your eyes with some kind of pottassium based liquid, which is the same thing found in the potato starch.-One eye or Both????---It can transfer from side to side as it heals , so dont rub it .

Dave223
09-24-2006, 05:39 PM