PDA

View Full Version : Anyone struggle with addiction?

Erics350x
11-21-2007, 12:33 AM
Any of you ever had and addiction like drugs, alcohol, ect. ? How did you deal with/overcome it? NA, AA, Church, cold turky?
Trike addiction doesn't count.lol

Russell 350X
11-21-2007, 12:41 AM
Smoking. I smoke a pack or more a day, and have been trying to quit, but its not easy, espeically with collage and work. Other than that and trikes, never had a addiction lol.

steven 250sx
11-21-2007, 12:59 AM
beer lol but i've grown out of it i donno it wasn't that bad i guess but still getting drunk everynight was an addiction

ATC-Eric
11-21-2007, 01:31 AM
Ive smoked cigarettes for about 8-9 years now. Ive quit 10 times, including one 6 month run.

My problem is that I associate my cigarettes as a tension reliever, or a break so to speak as I worked in the food industry for a long time.

At this point I know I really should quit for my health, but Im in no hurry.

The six month stretch had to do with not being around the same people for a while, and then it gets easy. Especially when you have a girlfriend breathing down your throat about quiting. Then at one point I had a cigarette to get back at her, and have been back on them for the past year and a half now. :D

The Goat
11-21-2007, 04:36 AM
whenever i first got my own place with a friend from highschool, i had at least a 6 pack a day for 10 months. that and my bar tabs each month was nearly 800 bucks.

i don't know if it was an addiction though...i mean yeah i was drinking a lot, but mainly it was out of fun and obligation. we were all going out every single night and having a blast...so i really didn't notice.

but one day i just looked around while drinking, me and a girlfriend had killed a fifth of jack, a pint of jack, and a half pint of jack, all during pirates of the Caribbean 3 in the theater and i walked out pretty much sober.