PDA

View Full Version : Getting a 1994 Suzuki RM 125........

Troll 2
05-25-2003, 12:31 AM
I'm getting my fourteen year old boy a 94' rm 125 on wendsday. It's at the suzuki dealer now, and getting a full overhaul. The engine will get a new crank journal, rod, piston, sleeve and port job. They will break it in and do the jetting.They are going to rebuild the fork's and replace the clutch too.
The bike look's like it's in good shape. All the main mechanical stuff like brake's, swing arm bushing's, cooling system ect. check out good. It has a ceet graphic's kit and seat cover. The tires are new. Has a brand new renthal chain and sprocket's. It come's with Answer pro taper bar's and mount kit. Also a fmf fatty pipe and silencer.
I think he's asking a little much for the bike at $1800, but the avaliblility around here is poor.
If I add up the engine cost with all the aftermarket part's up, it seem's like a good deal around here.
I have five four-stroke trike's and I'm a newbie to the two-stroke bike stuff.
I have a few question's and any info will help. I hear that the maintaince will be alot higher and I dont mind that. I would like to be sure we do it properly.
I was told that the air filter should be serviced every ride, and the trans fluid replaced every forth ride. Do you all agree? Then when should we expect to plan on a top-end o.h. again? I figure about a year. We will not be racing, just getting wild with it. Also any tip's, suggestion's or armchair riding advice would be great. Thanks....................Troll 8)

Here's a pic of a stock one;
http://w1.548.telia.com/~u54804547/bilder/rm12594.jpg

NOS_350X
05-25-2003, 02:35 AM
seems like a fair price for all the work thats being done to it

FullBore
05-25-2003, 05:08 PM
Nice little bike the Suzuki RM, It wants a very expensive spark plug in it and it wants very expensive 2 stroke oil using, nothing else, I've seen these seize up badly just from the wrong oil, it was mixed well too.