PDA

View Full Version : Why bother with reserve auctions?

Hoosier_Daddy
10-05-2008, 01:10 PM
Honestly? I have been buying and selling on ebay for many, many years and I still think reserve auctions hurt the seller. Look, you know how much you want for your machine. Put you're "buy it now" at $2500 like normal and instead of starting your auction at 0.99 cents and putting a reserve for $1000 just start your auction at $1000. It discourages people from bothering to bid when they see buy it now for $2500 and it is bid up to $500 and says "reserve not met". People say "he probably has his reserve set close to $2500 anyway" then they move on to other auctions.

In my opinion, if want at least $1000 but think you might get someone to bite at $1500 or $2000 then start the auction at $1000 and put buy it now for $1500 or so. It's just discouraging to see so many auctions that have ended with "reserve not met" because a lot of people don't bother with trying to guess the reserve and move on.

Just trying to give some helpful advice.

300rman
10-05-2008, 06:53 PM
i see people put reserves on, and mention in the description what the reserve is set at.....stupid cause it costs ya extra to do that.

200x newby
10-05-2008, 07:50 PM
well it protects you from loosing your ass on the item. it also scares people when you start the item real high. i personaly love the reserve.

erectordale
10-05-2008, 08:03 PM
well like me trying too sell the tiger 500 I won't take less than the reserve price even though it's low I've tried the no reserve route and lost my butt

Orangecnty250r
10-05-2008, 08:08 PM
Yup....I have made out very well with reserve auctions in the past....sometime people keep bidding up to the reserve...it can draw more bids and more money for the seller....more bids create more interest...thats why they cost more...plus they protect you when you start low...starting low has its benefits.

Blown 331
10-06-2008, 11:32 AM