PDA

View Full Version : question about emissions?

DarkestGKnight
02-05-2009, 05:42 PM
im about to buy a camaro and she said the only thing wrong is it wont pass inspection becasue of emissions how do i fix this problem?

seddon
02-05-2009, 05:46 PM
o2 senor or the catalitice convert

DarkestGKnight
02-05-2009, 05:47 PM
oh ok thanks man.

fabiodriven
02-05-2009, 05:53 PM
Dude, it could be anything. Just saying it's an O2 sensor from the other side of a computer is easy.

I'm not even going to give you a checklist because there are soooo many things that could happen to make your vehicle fail emissions. I am a mechanic and also a class "A" commercial inspector for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and all I do every day is inspections.

Get yourself an experienced mechanic with a scan tool and diagnose the car.

tanks350x
02-05-2009, 06:04 PM
I'm assuming that the car is not fuel injected. An unproperly adjusted carb can make it fail as well.. But take fabios advice and get it scanned, because you could be changing parts that you don't need to

seddon
02-05-2009, 06:07 PM
i was just trying to give him a starting point srry that i did not say that

The Goat
02-05-2009, 06:19 PM
slip your inspector 20 bucks...committ the crime...keep on rolling. DONE

DarkestGKnight
02-05-2009, 06:20 PM
its a 1988 camaro so im pretty sure it has a carburator

fabiodriven
02-05-2009, 06:28 PM
slip your inspector 20 bucks...committ the crime...keep on rolling. DONE

In Mass your car would be exempt from emissions but even if it wasn't, there is no way to "outsmart" the new Mass state emissions test. Once the computer is hooked up to test there is no way around it. It's either pass or fail.

The Goat
02-05-2009, 06:38 PM
and if there is a good vehicle around that's guaranteed to pass?

...I let my car be hooked to the computer in place of my friends riced out eclipse because he had no chance of passing.

can yall do that up there or no?

Mosh
02-05-2009, 06:45 PM