//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: 1986 Yamaha 225 Tri Moto

--

1986 Yamaha 225 Tri Moto

Just bought it, I am new to 3 wheelers. So there is going to be some dumb questions here.
    1. Does anybody know where I can get a paper copy of a repair manual for this bike?
    2. What kind of oil does this take
    3. Where can I get good parts for the cheapest price for these?
    4. The trike seems to not completly go into 1st gear every now and then. Like the trans is slipping or something. Is there a fix for this, or is the trans going out?

Any and all help is appreciated, I am a mechanic so I will pick up on it fast. I just want to do everything is good on this bike because I want it to last. It is in great shape and I wanna keep it that way without breaking the bank lol.

Thanks in advance.

Kevin

Mr.Atc is offline At The Back Of The Pack Arm chair racerFirst time rider
    --
    1. get the original manual from ebay or search online and there are probably downloadable manuals
    2. 10w-40 id run amsoil in it its good stuff
    3. ebay
    4. idk never had it happen to me

--
    Ok thanks for the info. Ya I was thinking either Amsoil or Royal purple, thats what I run in my Trans Am. I know the guy I bought it from was saying he runs Yamalube, just was not sure if that was better than car oil or not. I am thinking of adjusting the clutch to see if that makes the shifting better or not. I will have to check out ebay for the manual. Thanks again

--
    Only run Yamalube! Especially since that was what he was running. Yamalube is an excellent oil. Never run automotive oil in an ATV. You will cause your clutch to slip due to the friction reducing additives. Don't forget to change the oil filter.

There is a manual floating around on here. Search around and you will find it.