//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Honda ATC 110 Weak Spark

--

Honda ATC 110 Weak Spark

This unit is producing a blue spark, but it is very small. I do not currently have a fuel tank hooked up (carb leaks), but I sprayed starter fluid in it
    and could not get it to fire. When pulling the plug, I could smell the starter fluid on it and was slightly wet. I cleaned the ground and hot on the coil, but it was not any stronger. Do these motors not like starter fluid, as I thought the spark was big enough to make it run? Is there something I need
    to do to get a larger spark? I'm obviously a noob here, but not to mechanics themselves. I have worked with a GY6 before, but do not have much
    experience with these.
    Thank You

--
    It could be a few things but I would check the gap on the generator it could have widenend and not be making good enough contact. Is there any bad connections anywhere else in the wiring. also the generator is the little cover that says cdi on it. I would clean that then adjust the contact points and see what that does. I believe the gap should be like .03 or .04

--
    Ok, I will try that tomorrow. By the generator I am assuming you mean the winding underneath the flywheel?

--
    No. The generator is the little cover about 3in round that says cdi on it. It should be a silver color and 2 wires coming out of it.

--
    To the best of my knowledge all of them don't say cdi . the early models had points instead of a cdi so the early ones didn't have cdi on it.
    1985 Honda Big Red 250es (All original even the METAL tank)
    1985 Honda Big Red 250es (Very Clean My wife bike)
    1985 Honda Big Red 250es Project bike (FOR SALE)
    1980 Honda ATC 110 W/NEW mudlites(My 6yo sons muding machine)
    1982 Honda ATC 110 (Mine when i was a kid)
    1984 Honda ATC 110 (MINT all original and very CLEAN)
    1985 Honda ATC 250R (NON-runner but complete)