//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: '84 Honda Big Red 200ES

--

'84 Honda Big Red 200ES

Hey everyone. I'm new to this, so bear with me.

I have my grandfather's '84 Honda Big Red 200ES. We used to use this rig for hours on end in the cotton fields. He passed away in '89, but my grandmother told me last year that the Big Red was still around, and was at my aunt's house. To my surprise, it was in great condition!

This three wheeler means a lot to me.

I put a new battery on it, and it ran great. I keep the oil changed and perform maintenance regularly. My kids think it's the coolest thing around.

Earlier this week, my daughter reported that it stopped running, and was leaking gas everywhere. I had her shut off the fuel valve until I could get there. Fuel was leaking out of the carb into the air filter compartment. I spent the weekend working on it, and thanks to the posts on this forum, was able to determine that it was a gummed up carb. I removed the carburetor, took it apart, cleaned it thoroughly with some carb cleaner I got at the store, and blew it out with my compressor. I put everything back together, and (after remembering to put the needle clip back in) fired her up.

The leak is gone, but now she runs only with the choke on. She kind of chokes and sputters, and backfires a LOT--scares the heck out of the dogs. If I try to undo the choke, it immediately dies.

Any ideas as to what's going on? Is there anything I need to tweak after taking the carb apart?

Like I said, this trike has a lot of sentimental value to me, so any help would be *greatly* appreciated.

Thanks!

tripowersport is offline At The Back Of The Pack Arm chair racerAt the back of the pack
    --