//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Free-wheeling hub for ATC250ES

--

Free-wheeling hub for ATC250ES

Hey guys. I'm somewhat new to ATVs since I've spent most of my offroad life on dirt bikes, but I picked up an '85 250 Big Red and I'm hooked. I use it off road plenty, but it also spends a lot of time running people around at swap meets, mostly on pavement. Due to the solid read axle, it can get pretty hard to turn when on-road. It's not bad when it's just me riding it, but with one or two people on the back rack it just wants to push straight ahead. When it finally does turn, it does so with lots of tire scrubbing and squealing. It really makes it not a lot of fun to ride like this.
    I figure that a free-wheeling hub on one of the wheels would fix this, allowing the wheels to differentiate while turning. Does anything like this exist? A manual locking hub like on a 4x4 truck would be swell since it could be on the trike permanently and just switched on or off for varying conditions. I'd also be happy with just a hub that freewheeled on a bearing or something that I could swap on before I took it to a meet. I'm sure that I could fabricate something that would work, but I thought I'd check here first to see if it's something that's been done before. Thanks.

--
    I just used the search option on the top right. It came up with a ton of different ones when i typed in free wheelin hub, I dont have the time or patience to look thru alll of them. What town are you in??
    R.I.P. John Swinehart
    TRIKEFEST 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19
    Epic Mikfest 17
    86 200x
    85 250sx
    85 big red
    85 atc 70

Fabiodriven- cereal goes in first, then milk.
    I’ve got an 8” Grip on a 10” turd... Kyle Kiser

--