//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 225dx running poorly

--

225dx running poorly

So here is what i have done thus far. New gas, new plug, adjusted intake valve (exhaust was still on spec), cleaned carb to my best ability, put air box back on.
    Here is a video of what it sounds like so far. Runs better after the valve was adjusted, but still poorly. Mid range throttle is fine, but everywhere else is horrible. Is it carb related? Should the intake valve be adjusted tighter or more loose? A new carb pieced together on Rocky Mountain atv is $300+, no cheap chinese replacements like atc's. I have two carbs but i am not experienced in rebuilding them, i might look into sending it to someone, there use to be a member on here that did it if i remember correctly. And the carb has a 120 main to compensate for the exhaust. I think stock is 112.5?

Any insight appreciated.

Keep in mind i only gave it gas twice near the middle of the video.

--
    In my opinion it is a carb problem, no doubt. The problem should be your fuel/air mixture screw, adjust it till you get it right but do not tighten the screw all the way up into the carb because you could damage the seat. The fuel mixture screw is number 21 in the schematics below . You may have to get it rebuilt, they are not hard to do and there should be a manual for that on this site somewhere.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails carbairfuel.jpg  

--
    That's my old 225dx correct?

Did you rejet once you took the clamp on filter off and put on the airbox?

Good way to get a good clean carb is to remove all rubber o-rings, and springs, and put the carb in chem-dip for a day. Take out, rinse with gas, and dry with air gun, blowing in all the little passages.
    84' Yamaha Tri-zinger 60
    85' Honda ATC 70
    84' Honda ATC 70
    83' Honda ATC 70
    78' Honda ATC 70 (140cc lifan)
    79' Honda ATC 70
    73' Honda ATC 70
    85' Honda 200s
    83' Honda 200e
    85' Honda 250sx

--