//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Nitrogen is Expensive?

--

Nitrogen is Expensive?

I rebuilt my first rear shock this weekend. Pretty straightforward parts R&R - new seal & oil & replace the piston in the reservoir.

Except for the nitrogen charge. I figured I could get it done at one of the local shops.

Maybe not...

First place I went was one of the big dealers in town. They said, "$50".
    I said, "$50?!?"
    He said, "Nitrogen is expensive."

Huh?

Now, I'm no expert, $50 for a shot of nitrogen and 5 minutes work?
    The way they acted, I felt like they would just take my $50 and fill it with air from the compressor.

Anybody have suggestions for getting this shock charged? I'll try a couple of other shops since they'll be open tomorrow (Tuesday).

KASEY is offline weee weeee weeeeeeeeeee ! ! ! The day begins with 3WW
    --
    I HAVE THE WHOLE SETUP TO RECHARGE SHOCKS,, the gas alone is about $20 for enough to charge 50 shocks,, maybe more,, the regulator was$120 and the hookup was $65 ,, so for them to charge $50 is hiway robbery,,,, if you prorate your equipment over 100 shocks it costs about $5 with labor to charge a shock,,,,

--
    ya, my local dealer charges 35 and fills a shock with the same apparatus that you'd fill a tire. never again.

barnett468 is offline FACT ! I have no edit button Arm chair racerThe day begins with 3WW
    --
    hello;

call around to some off road truck supply shops and off road truck building shops. they use it in their huge off road shocks and might be a bit less money.

--
    Geez the shop I go to charges me 5 bucks. 50 is just crazy

--
    6 bucks to re-charge my shocks at the local guy here in STL.
    Feedback for yaegerb: Click Here

Need something blasted or polished or both? Send me a PM

--
    Truth is 70% of every breath you take is nitrogen..it's the most common gas on planet earth.

It's inert/non-reactive properties make it perfect for many applications from welding to gas shocks..