//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Testing the headlight on my '85 ATC250R

Qdude79 is offline At The Back Of The Pack Arm chair racerAt the back of the pack
    --

Testing the headlight on my '85 ATC250R

Fresh off a nut and bolt rebuild, my trike had the wiring for headlight when I bought it, but no headlight (or taillight, for that matter). Have since added a headlight with a brand new bulb but don't get so much as a flicker. I'm a novice with a multi-meter, but I have one, and get low AC voltage readings (single digits) when it's running. Can anyone give me some steps on how to diagnose my problem?
    "Still occupied with 1985"

200X- restored to near original and SOLD
    350X- back in black
    250R- she purdy...

Qdude79 is offline At The Back Of The Pack Arm chair racerAt the back of the pack
    --
    63 views over two days and nobody knows???

350X- back in black
    250R- she purdy...

Surprise AZ. In the garage working on trikes.
    --
    http://www.oscarmayer.net/atc/manuals/

Download the Honda 250r Manual. It gives you all the information you need to test the headlight circuit.

--
    I've got it and tried it. Does not tell me what I should be getting out of the headlight plug. Just how to test the lighting circuit for connectivity.

350X- back in black
    250R- she purdy...

--
    Anybody willing to try and get readings from their working headlight plug that I could compare to so I at least know what it SHOULD be?

350X- back in black
    250R- she purdy...

--
    Make sure you have your meter set to read AC and not DC. It should be in the neighborhood of 12 to 14 volts AC depending on the rpms of the motor.

--
    Thanks Varget!

I did that, (making sure it was AC) and all I got was somewhere between 1.5 to maybe 4 volts when revved. Bike runs fine otherwise. What would that indicate? Lighting coil? Alternator altogether?

Thanks again, now I feel like I'm getting somewhere!

350X- back in black
    250R- she purdy...

--