//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: XR 650L project

--

XR 650L project

I picked up an '08 xr650L about a month ago. Traded my '85 atc125m. The entire top end is bad and it will need a new piston, bore, rockers, cam, and possibly a head. Bottom is solid from what I can see. It is all apart and a partial basket case but it seems to all be there. Any comments, concerns, or advice is much appreciated.

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails image.jpg   image.jpg   image.jpg  
    "Roll on 3"

RIP Ol' Deuce

"Long Live the ATC"
    Building: ATCr125x
    Riding: ATC200sx
    "I am not a mechanic, mechanics get paid for this. I do it because I enjoy it."

--
    The XR650L is Honda's answer to dual sport motorcycles and there still selling them. Not much change in motor design since '88 when they introduced the NX650 electric start. The motor is fashioned after the XR600R dirt bike, in fact many of the parts are interchangeable. I must presume the reason for the needed top end parts is the common problem occurred to this one, lack of oil to the top end.....damaging the cam and rocker arms. Still a nice bike if put back together, you have a very clean looking beginning.

"HJ" Click image for larger version. 

Name:	oldfogey.jpg 
Views:	167 
Size:	1.2 KB 
ID:	216573
    ’84 YT60
    ’85 350x (423cc) with ’81 XL500 head conversion
    ’83 XR500 (628cc) converted 3 Wheel hybrid
    ’73 CB750 K3 converted 3 Wheel hybrid
    ’86 TRX250R chassis XR650L engine hybrid
    ’89 TRX250R (stock )
    ’90 LT500 Quadzilla
    ’85 FL350 Odysses ( water cooled head )
    Lost (sold) but not forgotten ’80 ATC 110 (205cc on alcohol ) ’83 200x ( 222cc ) ’83 200x ( 185s eng ) ’85 350x ( stock )
    added to the collection recently, (2) '70 US90 Aquarius Blue and '74 ATC90 Daytona Orange

--
    Quote Originally Posted by HairyJR View Post