//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: How it's Done

--

Thumbs up How it's Done

How it’s Done

I don’t know if this is the correct place for this thread but here it goes
    Cylinder honing 101

Billy & I have been doing a Machine shop thread in E2S for a few years now. I’m retired now but am still keeping Small Engine Machine Works & N. W. Sleeve alive with the active domain names for both companies.
    www.nwsleeve.com & www.smallenginemachineworks.com have been turning specialty cylinder sleeves since 1971. Nowadays we only do full line custom cylinder boring & sleeving, 1 at a time. “No Plating”
    Enjoy the thread & get involved

The object for the thread (How it’s Done) is to educate & encourage people to become involved in the machine shop business. Every couple of weeks or so there will be a new entry showing & explaining how cycle & small engine machine work is properly done. Everyone’s input will be invited for questions & answers.

Cylinder Honing 101 will be the first thread in “How it’s Done” for 3Wheeler.
    Now days times are turning around again; plated cylinders are wearing out all over the place. With PMI inc. leading the way with an assortment of various brands of pistons. Performance Motorsports International is the parent company for Wiesco (My favorite) J.E. & Pro-X lines of pistons.

With cylinder sleeves available for almost any engine; it’s important for the enthusiast to have a basic knowledge of the applications & tools used for installing & maintaining a cylinder with an IRON liner.
    Cylinder sleeves are NOT made from STEEL. It was pointed out in E2S that there are steel cylinders, mostly in the aircraft industry. Lets not get off on a tangent.

One of the simplest tools used in cylinder maintenance is the hone. Within this there is Glaze breaking & there is genuine cylinder honing. Glaze breaking is what it says & really has nothing to do with honing.