//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: .308 vs 6.5 Creedmoor

--

.308 vs 6.5 Creedmoor

Looking to make an informed purchase, but I have very little first hand knowledge of these.
    I know there are some experts in here that can help me with real life experience.
    Mainly looking for advice on brand and caliber right now.

I have never owned an AR platform. I love, love LOVE my Maadi AK, but I am now looking for something modern with optics.
    6.5 Creedmoor has superior ballistics to .308, that is not up for debate.
    I am most curious about current (and long term) availability and price comparison of the 2 rounds.

I am not, nor do I plan to become a competitive marksman.
    This is for fun with my friends from 250 to 6 or 700 yards.
    Budget: $2000 + $1000 for optics and rail goodies.
    That is probably entry level pricing, which is where I am right now.

Not interested at all in 5.56 or .223
    Also not interested in a build. As I said, I have almost zero knowledge and while I may build someday, I'm not looking for a project.
    What I want is something I can buy on-line or at my LGS, put a scope on, and take to the range.

I know there are many boutique brands that offer very high quality products, but I don't know the good from the mediocre.
    Armalite invented the thing, so they are near the top of the list. Hopefully that is a correct assumption.
    Ideally, I'd like to end up with a brand I trust and own (Springfield, Ruger, and Colt are my go to's), but this is a new foray for me, so here I am asking for advice.

Reliability is #1 priority. Accuracy is #2. I care exactly 0% about "looks," and I won't know about feel until I shoulder it anyway.
    I am 6' tall, 210# with fairly long arms if that matters. These stocks adjust anyway, right?

There is one other option I'd like to explore, and that is 30-06.
    I know about the M1 Garand, but people don't part with these.