//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 1982 200a with 65.5mm piston

--

1982 200a with 65.5mm piston

hi all picked up a 1982 200a last year and did a few mods ( 12x28 mudzillas, snorkle, and 52 tooth rear sprocket). a few weeks ago it was getting pretty noisy (piston slap). pulled motor down ordered 65.5mm piston had cylinder bored out, re assembled. i guess i should mention i am a marine and motorcycle technician so far far from my first build or first performance build. cannot get this darn thing to run properly got it jetted i believe to be pretty darn close but it almost seams like i need a bigger carb has anyone else put in a 65.5mm top end and if so did you go with a 30mm carb? money is tight and i dont really want to buy it just for s&g and it not make the difference. thanks for any info.

--
    I'm no expert on carbs, but I'd guess that a 30mm is way too big. Yours is probably a 22mm, while a 200X carb is 24mm. What is it doing to make you feel that it needs a bigger carb? What other mods did you do to it?

--
    My 200a has a stock 24mm carb I do not remember off the top of my head what the standard bore is. 1st over for a 200x is 65mm bore and from what I have read on this forum it has a 27mm carb and guys are putting on xr200 carbs to pick them up which are a 30mm carb. I bored my cylinder to 65.5mm with a cam not sure what the cam is it was in a parts bike I bought and was lumpier than mine so I put it in upon assembly. Seeing as the guys running 200x are putting the xr200 carb on theirs at a 65mm bore I would assume I am. Going to need to xr200 carb with my 65.5mm bore but was hoping to get some confirmation

--