//ArrowChat Code

Thread: Starting bike after sitting for 20 years?

--

Starting bike after sitting for 20 years?

First off I want to say hi to everyone, I'm new to the site and just bought my first ATC about a month ago and I am new to the whole two stroke motor.so with that being said I have a couple of questions if you don't mind helping me answer.

the bike is an 86 250R, in pristine condition, one owner and it's completely stock except for a KN filter. The last owner drained all the fuel but the bike has sat for 20 years. The bike has great compression when I crank it with my hand And it doesn't feel like anything's sticking.

So my question is how should I go about firing the bike back up, do I just dump fuel in it with the premix and try kick it over? do I pulled the head off check the gaskets the piston etc? new spark plugs?

Thank you everyone

--
    New plug & oil. Maybe mix the gas a bit heavy on the oil side (so it lubs up well right away). Most likely the carb will need to be pulled and cleaned. Since it's a 2 stroke, there's no valves or anything to stick. Other fluids should be checked like for the brakes, but isn't 100% needed for just a fire up to get it running. Mice love air cleaner boxes, so be sure to check if the air filter is in good shape and the box isn't full of 20 years of mouse poo. Also check over the gas tank for rust. If there was no fuel in it, most likely the rust would be high up in the tank, but checking the lowest area wouldn't hurt if you can get an angle. If the carb was ran/drained of gas, it might be just fine too.

When you first fire it up, listen to it carefully. Head gaskets are pretty tough, but a crank seal or crank case gasket leaking isn't good (lean condition). Not going to hurt anything for a test fire, but if it's a problem you'd want to fix it before doing a bunch of riding and such.