//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Atc 350x rebuild. Help and suggestions

--

Atc 350x rebuild. Help and suggestions

So I had an appendicitis a few weeks ago. I’m fine. Due to the nature of what I do for a living I’m out for 7 weeks. Fortunately I live in California and have state disability so money wise I’m ok and had some savings. I’ve got time , money and an original 1985 piston in my 350x. Let’s get started.
    I already have a 400ex carb and full exhaust I like. My plan is cam shaft from WEB and a wiseco piston.
    Anyone prefer a grind? I was leaning to the more aggressive 213 grind? Feel like these bikes have plenty of bottom and could use the top to help.
    Pistons? I’m gonna go with a wiseco, anyone on compression ? 10.25 or 12. Aware if I go to 12 I’ll probably be stuck on race gas with an aggressive cam. Is it a huge power difference?
    Final and bigger question is bore vs Hone? My bike ran and had good compression. Less than 5% difference than oem specs. Cylinder wall looks fine. I feel like I could order a oem size wiseco and save some money ? Thoughts ? And can I hone this myself ? Anyone suggest a good tool? I’m not a machinist but I am an ok mechanic. Or pay race tech to hone it for me ? Thanks guy and wish me luck !!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Ranvier is offline At The Back Of The Pack Arm chair racerAt the back of the pack
    --
    I recently bought a powroll 430 with cam and 12:1 piston. I haven’t had time to install it yet.

--
    im not a fan of a heavier piston. You can get the same power and more reliablilty from a decked head porting and 5 angle valve grind. Your power is in the head more so then a domed piston. 12:1 should not require race gas. I had 13.5:1 compression in a raptor motor which only startes at 9:1 I ran 93 corn gas. I just prefere a ligth OEM piston and pulling the power out of the head...crank does not know the differance.

--