//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Baja Mini bike

--

Baja Mini bike

What a pile of shet. Well...it was free. Tossed the chino motor. It weren't worth fixin'.

Mock up motor says there's enough room......I have a 185s engine almost built. Should be nice....and stupid uncontrollable. LOL!!!

Lots to do to make this what I want. BUT, I will start by getting the motor situated and in line with the rear sprocket. Everything else will come later.
    I'm not sure yet but I am seriously considering setting this up as a trike. Time, headache and $$$ will dictate.
    I was born and raised on Venus & I may be here a while.....

--
    One of the first hurdles, post engine mount, will be the shifter. With the pegs so far forward I may have no choice but to go with a suicide shifter. Might as well. The whole dang machine is gonna be a death trap anyway.

--
    Got all 4 motor mounts done today. I'm a pretty lousy welder so I gotta double down and excel at being a good grinder.
    Much to smooth out BUT the engine sits square in the frame and is within a 32nd of the sprockets. I have to change the rear sprocket so I may make a shim for that.

I work with what I have on hand and rarely BUY metal to work with. The front mount is made from the supports to an old treadmill. The bottom is made from chainlink fence bars. The top mount is made from a shipping support bracket that bolted down the new tire machine we just got at work to the shipping pallet.. No idea what the other mount is made from.
    After a good grinding wheel massage and a smear of paint....well, it'll still probably look like shet.

Last edited by Gabriel; 10-25-2019 at 06:30 PM.

--