//ArrowChat Code

Thread: Which bike to buy and for how much

--

Which bike to buy and for how much

I'm very new to the 3 wheel world so forgive my ignorance. I'm looking at 2 ATC's right now (which are much more expensive than I'd anticipated).

1. 1985 Honda Big Red 250ES. It's bone stock and spent the last 35 years on a ranch. It was used regularly and is in very good condition. One issue is the metal fuel tank developed pinholes, so the owner installed a plastic tank, but still has the original one. He also had the carburetor "replaced" 5 years ago. The son in law is selling it due to the ranchers bad health & doesn't know much else, other than it's been problem free for the last 35 years.
    Attachment 263795Attachment 263796

2. 1985 Honda 250SX. This bike was completely redone with all aftermarket parts by a guy who's "done this several times". The bike looks like new, and he said he changed all the cables, bushings, paint, plastics...to make it a daily rider.

I'm a ATV and motorcycle guy, so this is more of a novelty or corona boredom. It will be ridden on trails once every couple of months due to my proximity to any trails. No racing or aggressive riding, just easy slow trail riding. I ride alone 99.9% of the time and don't see people on the trails most of the time, so reliability is priority since I'm alone. I won't list the prices, but I'd appreciate some guidance on price, resale and fun factor.

--
    Beuller, Beuller, Beuller?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	download.jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	6.8 KB 
ID:	263818  

--
    Both are nice machines If you value OEM over aftermarket buy the big red. You might use it as a yard machine if you must drive to trail systems.
    Better resale value leans towards big reds with crack free OEM fenders, should be able to get an original metal gas tank if that is something important to you.

--