//ArrowChat Code

Thread: ATC90 axle questions

--

ATC90 axle questions

Hi, New (old) guy here.

I picked up a 1978 ATC90 a few months ago. Runs good, but has a few issues. When this machine was built, I worked as a mechanic at a Honda dealership. We saw a lot of these with loose rear axle bearing fits. Back then we had a local machine shop that would repair the axle fits using a spray metal process. Worked great. About half the cost of a new axle back then.

My first question is - what's done for fixing loose bearing fits these days? I haven't had my ATC90 apart. If I'm lucky, maybe it just needs bearings and a little loctite. It doesn't feel too sloppy yet.

Second question - are any tools available for removing axle nuts? When I used to work on these I made a really deep socket (with a piece of water pipe and a cut up impact socket,) and used it with an impact wrench. Worked pretty sweet. I'd settle for a couple of the correct size open end wrenches now.

I'm sure this has all been discussed before - but I couldn't find anything by searching the site.

--
    Quote Originally Posted by twomanyhobbies View Post
    Hi, New (old) guy here.

I picked up a 1978 ATC90 a few months ago. Runs good, but has a few issues. When this machine was built, I worked as a mechanic at a Honda dealership. We saw a lot of these with loose rear axle bearing fits. Back then we had a local machine shop that would repair the axle fits using a spray metal process. Worked great. About half the cost of a new axle back then.

My first question is - what's done for fixing loose bearing fits these days? I haven't had my ATC90 apart. If I'm lucky, maybe it just needs bearings and a little loctite. It doesn't feel too sloppy yet.