//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: My CR500 conversion "Official Thread" 4/10/08 updated.

--

My CR500 conversion "Official Thread" 4/10/08 updated.

Well I've had numerous threads on this thing and I still have my website, www.atc500r.com, but I'm busy waiting for parts to finish putting the thing back together for trikefest so I've decided to work on an official thread to try and consolidate everything. This conversion has been going on for several years now, and as everyone knows this kinda thing is never done. I've also had a lot of setbacks and lessons learned the hard way so a lot of this info is old news.

Current Progress Pic as of 4/17/2007

So, here's the bumpy story on my conversion.

The money pit....err..saga begins!!

Well it all started back when I was a freshman in college. I had a few different dirt bikes and atvs, I loved to ride. I had just gotten hooked on three wheelers and had started paying attention to anything in the magazines I could find about them.

It just so happened I had bought an issue of dirtwheels that had an article on an awesome CR500 trike conversion a guy named Tony Wyatt had done. This guys bike got a whole two pages in the mag and a good bit of it was interview, it was freakin awsome! Right then and there I knew I was going to build one.

Tony's bike was so sweet! He had leagers build him a new (this was year 2000) CR500 trike swinger just like from the 80s and had custom subframe and triples made. His 500 used various 400ex part and turned out totally sweet. Wish I could find that magazine.

So that was my inspiration and irrational spending was to follow. Obviously I didn't want an exact copy of Tony's bike, how un-cool would that be? So I set a few goals.

The main goal was to build a Honda ATC500R. Obviously since this is a bike conversion many trike enthusiasts consider this a ATCR500R but labels matter not to me.