//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Attempting to build my own CDI box......input?

--

Attempting to build my own CDI box......input?

So.....my YT125 Tri-Moto needs a CDI, and I thought, hell, I'm a decent tech, I should be able to figure this out

I've got my CDI box open and managed to scrape all of the silicone goo laced with little rocks away to an almost bare circuit board with components (I figured anyone that wanted to hide the components so well, it's GOT to be simple ), and I'm looking at one capacitor, a transistor, a diode, 3 or 4 resistors, and a mylar capacitor. Pretty simple if I can figure out what transistor is used.

My plan is to scrape the remaining junk out, and create a schematic of the CDI and attempt to build it on a small universal circuit board and etch the board traces myself. Couple questions for those of you who might know:

1. I assume that the advance for the timing is automatically controlled by the trigger pulse, and not by this transistor on any sort of curve? It's only four wires.....two ground, charge, and trigger.

2. Is there a universal CDI or a cheap one that will work in place of what I'm trying to do? I just don't want to spend $145 for $2.00 worth of electronics. Aside from which, if I can build it functionally, with experimentation I can make it better

--
    I've seen guys use Ford Duraspark units on ATV's. If they can use those you should be able to use a chevy ignition module as it's smaller.

--

Billy Golightly is offline Always finding new and exciting ways to not give a hoot in hell Catch me if you can
    --
    Blog Entries
    Interesting stuff! I'll be watching this thread closely.

--
    I had a ford coil pack for my coil on my 250r and thats is far as I took it, it made stupid amount of spark, if you can make a universal adjustable cdi unit you just built a better mousetrap my freind.

--

Used