//ArrowChat Code
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: My last ATC500R Frame Conversion build - October of 2023.

Billy Golightly is offline Always finding new and exciting ways to not give a hoot in hell Catch me if you can
    --
    Blog Entries

My last ATC500R Frame Conversion build - October of 2023.

A long time ago (too long ago, now) I was contacted about doing one more ATC500R conversion frame, like I use to do years ago. It had been more than 10 years since I had built the last one. Back in the day I built quite a few of these after I built one initially for myself. I would like to think I got pretty good at figuring out how to do certain aspects of these builds better or more effective, or at least for myself as a builder I did. Along the way I had quite a few trials and tribulations in personal life that delayed the work longer than I anticipated, but I've finally got it wrapped up and figured I'd make a post here about the process with some pictures and some commentary about the process and building these things.

There are a lot of threads and posts here from back in the day on doing these conversions. Generally speaking there are two accepted ways to do it utilizing the 250R frame (And of course using the existing CR500 frame is another method, I've built one that way before too).

One - heavily dimple/dent/bend most of the original bottom frame cradle, and cross bar the bottom shock linkage mounts to because the CR500 engine is lower slung, than a 250R engine, and is of course taller since its double the engine CC size...